Project 3 – Photodesign

P3_MeganHendrickson_PhotoDesign

Description:
Demonstration of photography and photo editing skills using Photoshop. Create a poster using a photo and incorporate colors from the picture within the poster.

Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles):
I knew I wanted to use a picture from nature for this project and I spent an entire day hiking through the woods with my kids taking hundreds of photos with my Nikon D3200 and captured this beautiful photo. I edited the photo in photoshop to enhance the lighting and color vibrance and then created this poster incorporating it. I incorporated the color scheme and color swatches into the poster. I loved the focus on nature and really wanted to incorporate it into my poster so I surrounded the photo with swirling vines and leaves. I even used little curling vines for the swatches. Finally, I wanted to make it feel like the word “Bloom” was actually blooming so I added a swirling vines growing from the tail of the letter ‘m.’ I felt like this helped the cohesion of the entire poster.

Message:
An inspirational message to meant to inspire you to simply make the best of any situation you end up in.

Audience:
Everyone and anyone you enjoys nature and needs a little inspiration or motivation.

Top Thing Learned:
I learned how to make basic edits in Photoshop (levels, sharpness, saturation/vibrance, and color balance). I also learned how to use brushes in Photoshop.

Color scheme and color names:
Monochromatic – Green

Title Font Name & Category:
Mistral – Script

Copy Font Name & Category:
Garamond – Old Style

Thumbnail of original, unedited image:
October 14, 2015 Ledges State Park, Iowa
DSC_1057

Photoshop Brushes Used:
br-76Swirls from www.damnedinblack.net/brushes.htm

 

8 responses to “Project 3 – Photodesign

  1. I’m rally loving how you have the detail growing from the word “Bloom”. That’s such a great idea and design element.

  2. My first reaction was Wow! This is so beautiful! Nice work. You did a great job with this project. I love the color scheme. It works great! I also love the flow of this. Really good job!

    https://sarahleighblog.wordpress.com/2015/10/18/project-3-photodesign/

  3. I like your color scheme. I like how you incorporate that design into your font. The tittle stands out. I like the background a lot. I like your picture. Nice job . I invite you to check my website.
    https://gabbycornelio.wordpress.com/

  4. I really like the way that you use your title and tie it into the vines. Very creative. https://typecdesign.wordpress.com

  5. Megan, despite monochromatic not being a personal favorite, you did an awesome job with all the different greens! The message is also awesome! How did you get the other green around your picture?

    Here is my blog, check it out!
    https://comm130mdj.wordpress.com/design/

  6. I really like.
    I love the colors you used in this project. I have seen some work with the monochromatic scheme. Something that caught my attention is that the original photo and the photo of the design.
    I can do an excellent job of “foreground” in the small flower. and I really like the font you used to make the title.
    This is my blog so you can watch
    https://joseandressite.wordpress.com/2015/10/17/project-3-photodesign/
    This is another blog of a classmate so you can check it.
    https://mbcastellanos.wordpress.com/2015/10/18/project-3-photodesign/comment-page-1/#comment-13

Leave a Reply

